About Vegan Lifestyle: Justin P. Moore

Full Text in GERMAN: HERE

Justin P. Moore, c Ashley Ludaescher

Justin P. Moore, c Ashley Ludaescher

Justin P. Moore is author of vegan cookbooks, artist and travels around the world. He was born in the United States but has lived in Berlin for many years. I meet him there in an “en vogue” cafe of Prenzlauer Berg. He has followed his vegan lifestyle for 20 years – long before it became trendy. As a young man he enjoyed cooking and dreamed of writing a cookbook. In the meantime he works on book number four. He gets his inspiration for recipes and books while he travels to unknown destinations.

J.P. Moore mit Farmer, Lagos

J.P. Moore with a farmer at Lagos

Vegan because he likes it

At a time when most young people are interested in fashion and music, he decided to become vegan. Nevertheless, he enjoyed music, too. He makes no fuss about his lifestyle and harbors no “Mission intentions” with it. In the beginning it was difficult for him to live vegan.

Finding recipes was a challenge and buying vegan clothes nearly impossible. He found his way and his surroundings accepted his decision. One of his intentions is to inspire others with the way he lives. “I just try to live and eat as it suits me. I think it’s nice when I’m a role model for other people but I do not want to preach.” He respects others and likes to be respected in return. And he prefers to take informed decisions. “At the age of eight I knew that meat was not really my thing. It took a while before I understood, yes, there are people who do not eat meat ‘ “. And even more time before he took the step to his vegan lifestyle.

J. P. Moore beim Kochen

J. P. Moore cooking

At the age of 17 he wrote down his first recipes and published a small booklet, which he distributed to interested people. His favorite is the Indo-Asian cuisine. He has a simple explanation for it. When he was two years old his mother took him to a nanny from India. She fed him with vegetarian delights of her Indian homeland and he particularly loved the sweets.

Berlin – a special love

While he studied Arts in the US, one of his professors told him to go on a study tour to Europe where he could see German painters of the early 20th century. He arrived in Berlin in 1997 and fell in love with the city at first sight. It corresponds well with his lifestyle and views. He appreciates the art scene, likes to speak German and feels comfortable here in his new home.

J. P. Moore bei einer Kochshow

J. P. Moore at a cooking event

Every year he takes a break for several weeks and travels to an unknown destination. He is fascinated by new countries and the people there – but he is even more fascinated by the simmering contents of their cooking pots. He likes observing other people while they cook – there, he takes notes and photographs. The memories safely stored in his brain and micro chipcard he starts to experiment and cook new recipes at home. He makes a living by travelling, writing and promoting his vegan books and lifestyle.

He has published three cookbooks. The main theme is “The Lotus and the Artichoke” with the respective country specification. The books are available as ‘journey around the world’, with a focus on Mexico and the latest with recipes from Sri Lanka. Currently he writes book number four with recipes from his last trip to Malaysia. 

Spinat und Pilze, Justin P. Moore

Spinach and Mushrooms, Justin P. Moore

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Vegan Lifestyle: Justin P. Moore erzählt

Ganzen Beitrag lesen: HIER

Justin P. Moore, c Ashley Ludaescher

Justin P. Moore, c Ashley Ludaescher

Justin P. Moore ist veganer Kochbuchautor, Künstler und Weltreisender. Er ist Amerikaner, lebt aber seit vielen Jahren in Berlin. Dort treffe ich ihn in einem Szenecafé auf dem Prenzlauer Berg. Vegan lebt er seit 20 Jahren und nicht erst seit es „hip“ ist. Schon als Jugendlicher hat er gerne gekocht und wollte immer ein Kochbuch schreiben. Daraus sind inzwischen fast vier geworden. Inspiration für seine Rezepte und Kochbücher holt er sich jedes Jahr aufs Neue auf ausgedehnten Reisen in für ihn bekannte und unbekannte Gefilde.

J.P. Moore mit Farmer, Lagos

J.P. Moore mit Farmer, Lagos

Vegan weil er es gut findet

Zu Zeiten, in denen sich junge Leute am meisten für Mode und Musik interessieren, beschloss er, sich vegan zu ernähren. Musik interessierte ihn trotzdem. Um seinen Lifestyle macht er kein Aufhebens – er hegt keine „Missionsabsichten“ damit. Damals war es schwierig für ihn, vegan zu leben. An Rezepte zu kommen war eine Herausforderung, an vegane Kleidung fast unmöglich. Er arrangierte sich, sein Umfeld akzeptierte seinen Entschluss.

Eines seiner Ziele ist es, andere mit seiner Lebensweise zu inspirieren. „Ich versuche einfach zu leben und mich so zu ernähren, wie es mir passt. Ich finde es schön, wenn ich ein Vorbild für andere Leute bin aber ich will nicht predigen. Ich will nicht missionieren.“ Respekt für sich und andere ist ihm wichtig – und bewusste Entscheidungen zu treffen. „Schon mit acht Jahren wusste ich, dass Fleisch nicht so meins war. Das hat ein bisschen gedauert bevor ich verstanden habe ‚ja, es gibt Leute, die kein Fleisch essen’“.

J. P. Moore beim Kochen

J. P. Moore beim Kochen

Mit 17 schreibt er seine ersten Rezepte auf und veröffentlicht ein kleines Heftchen, das er an Interessierte verteilt. Besonders liebt er die indisch-asiatische Küche. Dafür gibt es seiner Meinung nach eine einfache Erklärung. Mit zwei Jahren kam er zu einer Tagesmutter aus Indien, die ihn mit vegetarischen Köstlichkeiten aus ihrer indischen Heimat versorgte. Die Süßigkeiten liebte er besonders.

Berlin – eine besondere Liebe

Auf Anraten seines Kunstprofessors reiste er 1997 während seines Studiums nach Europa, um sich hier deutsche Maler des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts anzusehen. Dabei kam er nach Berlin und hat sich spontan in diese Stadt verliebt. Sie entspricht ganz seinem Lebensgefühl. Er schätzt die Kunstszene, mag die deutsche Sprache und fühlt sich wohl hier in seiner neuen Wahlheimat.

J. P. Moore bei einer Kochshow

J. P. Moore bei einer Kochshow

Jedes Jahr bricht er für mehrere Wochen auf und reist in ein ihm unbekanntes Land oder in eine neue Region. Land und Leute faszinieren ihn – aber noch viel mehr, was letztere in ihren Kochtöpfen garen. Er schaut den Köchen und Köchinnen gerne über die Schulter beim Kochen, macht sich Notizen und fotografiert. Die Erinnerungen nimmt er mit nach Hause, experimentiert und kreiert neue Gerichte. Seinen Lebensunterhalt finanziert er inzwischen überwiegend über seine Reisen und die vegane Ernährung.

Drei Kochbücher hat er veröffentlicht. Das Hauptthema ist „The Lotus and the Artichoke“ mit der jeweils landestypischen Spezifizierung. Es gibt sie als Reise um die Welt, mit dem Schwerpunkt Mexiko und das neueste mit Rezepten aus Sri Lanka. Derzeit entsteht Buch Nummer vier mit Rezepten von seiner letzten Reise nach Malaysia.

Spinat und Pilze, Justin P. Moore

Spinat und Pilze, Justin P. Moore

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Schreibe einen Kommentar