Treptower Park, Berlin

Ehrenmal, Treptower Park

Cenotaph, Treptower Park

Birds are singing, the sun is shining – Treptower Park invites to linger in its freshly developed lush spring greenery. The park is one of the large citiy parks and covers an area of 88.2 hectares in the southeast of Berlin.

Gustav Meyer planned it in the late 19th century as a recreation area for the rapidly growing population of Berlin. He started implementing it in 1876. Construction work was finished in 1888. Large and inviting lawn areas, water ways and ponds, many trees and alleys, as well as generously curved paths mark the outline of the park and remind the onlooker of the times in which it was built. The artificially built carp pond is still a popular place. The park holds a novelty for that time: it was accessible to all citizens.

In the east the Spree with the Osthafen (East harbor) limits the park. From here excursion boats take off for sightseeing tours through Berlin. A lot of effort is currently spent on rebuilding this part of the park. The park is split by the Puschkinallee. Its appearance with the big old plane trees and ample space reminds of the times when it was built. Near the Spree, Treptower Park continues into Plänterwald.

Commercial exhibition

The park was just completed for recreational purposes as new ideas for its use came up. Merchants and industrialists of Berlin sought a world exhibition similar to those in Paris and London. However, the emperor rejected the plan.

The “Association of Berlin Merchants and Industrialists” did not give in. On the premises of the Treptower Park they organized a commercial exhibition on 900 hectares in 1896. Investors conjured an attractive blend of exoticism, festival and variety theater. A pier, a new long-distance railway station and new tram lines were built for the exhibition.

Ehrenmal, Treptower Park

Cenotaph, Treptower Park

Cenotaph and Memorial

Embedded in the park is the Soviet War Memorial – it was built in memory for the more than 70,000 people who were killed in the period between April 16, 1945 and May 2, 1945 in the battle of Berlin. After 1945 it was built on 10 hectares of the former playground and sports field of the park. In the common graves over 7,000 Red Army soldiers found their final resting.

Once a year the otherwise rather contemplative Park shows a very different face – it turns into a magnet for the public, especially for people from the former Soviet Republics. On May 8, Europe commemorates the end of war and the capitulation of Nazi Germany. The countries of the former Soviet Union are in a different time zone – ahead of our time. Therefore they celebrate May 9th as their day of Victory.

Even 71 years after the war, hundreds of people come to visit the memorial in the park – relatives of soldiers and people who want to maintain the memory of May 8 alike. The atmosphere is rather like on a Fairground, information boards are up, folkloric performances take place, Russian music is played and culinary delights are provided.

At each common grave handwritten and brightly painted nameplates are suspended on strings of those soldiers who could be identified. Visitors carry signs with the name of their relatives, bring flowers and place them on the graves. Even a delegation of the “Night Wolves” – a Putin-related, national-patriotic motorcycle group from Russia, laid a wreath. They left Russia at the end of April on their motorbikes to celebrate in Berlin.

After two eventful days finally silence arrives at the park – only nightingales and numerous other birds sing in competition and with a little luck one can see a frightened fox running with a fluttering tail.

The Treptower Park starts at the S-Bahn station “Treptower Park” (lines 8, 9, 41, 42, 85) and can be reached easily with the buses 165, 166 and 265.

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Treptower Park, Berlin

Ehrenmal, Treptower Park

Ehrenmal, Treptower Park

Vögel zwitschern, die Sonne scheint – in sattem Grün erstreckt sich der Treptower Park im Südosten Berlins und lädt zum Verweilen ein. Er blickt auf eine lange und vielfältige Geschichte zurück. Mit 88,2 ha Fläche gehört er zu den großen Stadtparks in Berlin.

Gustav Meyer plante die Parkanlage für die damals rasant wachsende Bevölkerung Berlins. 1876 fing er mit der Umsetzung an. Die Bauarbeiten dauerten bis 1888. Typisch für die Zeit sind die großen, einladenden Liegewiesen, die Wasserflächen, viele Bäume und Alleen sowie die großzügig geschwungenen Wege. Der künstlich angelegte Karpfenteich ist immer noch eine beliebte Anlaufstelle. Das Novum für die damalige Zeit: der Park war allen Bürgern zugänglich.

Im Osten begrenzt die Spree mit ihrem Osthafen den Park. Von hier starten Ausflugsboote für Stadtrundfahrten. Dieser Teil des Parks wird derzeit aufwändig instandgesetzt. Durch den Park führt die Puschkinallee, die immer noch dank ihres Erscheinungsbilds mit den großen, alten Platanen und ihrer Weitläufigkeit an die damalige Zeit erinnert. An der Spree geht der Treptower Park in den Plänterwald über.

Gewerbeausstellung

Kaum war der Park zur Naherholung fertiggestellt, wuchs der Wunsch nach einer weiteren Nutzung. Berliner Kaufleute und Industrielle strebten eine Weltausstellung ähnlich derer in Paris und London an. Der Kaiser lehnte den Plan jedoch ab.

Der „Verein Berliner Kaufleute und Industrieller“ gab sich nicht geschlagen. Er organisierte 1896 vor den Toren Berlins auf dem heutigen Gelände des Treptower Parks auf 900 ha eine Gewerbeausstellung von gigantischen Ausmaßen. Die Investoren zauberten eine anziehende Mischung aus Exotik, Volksfest und Varieté. Eigens für die Ausstellung wurden Schiffsanleger, eine neue Fernbahnstation und  neue Straßenbahnlinien gebaut.

Ehrenmal, Treptower Park

Ehrenmal

Ehrenmal und Gedenkstätte

In die Parkanlage eingebettet liegt das Sowjetische Ehrenmal – die Gedenkstätte erinnert an die über 70.000 Menschen, die in der Zeit zwischen dem 16. April 1945 und dem 2. Mai 1945 in der Schlacht um Berlin getöteten Menschen. Sie wurde nach 1945 auf der ehemaligen Spiel- und Sportwiese auf einer Fläche von 10 ha errichtet. In den Sammelgräbern fanden über 7.000 Soldaten der Roten Armee ihre letzte Ruhe.

Einmal im Jahr zeigt der sonst eher beschauliche Park ein ganz anderes Gesicht – er wird zum Publikumsmagnet, besonders für Menschen aus den ehemaligen Sowjetrepubliken. Am 8. Mai gedenkt Europa des Kriegsendes und der Kapitulation Nazideutschlands. Die Länder der ehemaligen Sowjetunion liegen in einer anderen Zeitzone – unserer Zeit voraus. Daher feiern sie erst den 9. Mai als Tag des Sieges.

Auch 71 Jahre nach Kriegsende strömen Hunderte – Angehörige und Menschen, die das Gedenken an den 8. Mai aufrechterhalten möchten – zum Ehrenmal im Treptower Park. Die Stimmung hat eher Volksfestcharakter, es gibt Infotafeln, folkloristische Darbietungen, russische Musik und für Gaumenfreuden ist gesorgt.

Um die einzelnen Sammelgräber sind an Schnüren handgeschriebene und bunt bemalte Namensschilder derer aufgehängt, die identifiziert werden konnten. Besucher tragen Schilder mit den Namen Gefallener, bringen Blumen und legen sie an den Gräbern ab. Selbst eine Delegation der „Nachtwölfe“ – einer Putin-nahen, national-patriotischen Motorradgruppe aus Russland, legte einen Kranz nieder. Ende April waren sie mit ihren Motorrädern nach Berlin aufgebrochen.

Nach zwei ereignisreichen Tagen kehrt wieder Ruhe ein im Park – nur die Nachtigallen und zahlreichen Singvögel trällern um die Wette und mit etwas Glück kann man einen aufgeschreckten Fuchs mit wehender Fahne davonlaufen sehen.

Der Treptower Park liegt direkt an der S-Bahn Haltestelle „Treptower Park“ (Linien 8, 9, 41, 42, 85) und ist auch mit den Bussen 165, 166 und 265 gut zu erreichen.

Ehrenmal, Treptower ParkEhrenmal, Treptower Park

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Schreibe einen Kommentar