Walk on ice at Lake Tornow

Tornow See

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

A cold wind whistles through the bare branches, the March sun resides high in the sky. Despite the warm rays of the sun, our thermometer does not climb to positive figures today. For days the ground has congealed under strong frost. We start our hike from the Kneipp-Kurort Buckow in the center of the Märkische Schweiz Nature Park, about 50 kilometers east of Berlin. Our goal is the Großer Tornower See.

Großer Tornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

The walk to Tornow is easy and takes approximately three quarters of an hour. We pass through a section of Buckow, past the Nature Park Center “Schweizer Haus” and walk along a little stream. While slowly approaching the lake one can witness activities of nocturnal residents: beavers have chewed their way through thin tree trunks – quite a number of them have fallen victim to the strong teeth. A resident at the lake informs us that two beaver families reside within the lake. The shy creatures do not show themselves today. It is too cold.

Biberspuren, Tornow

Nagespuren Biber, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

The frozen lake lies still before us. I place my first steps carefully on the ice. I am fascinated by the bubbles within the ice. They ascended from the mud of the lake ground but could not make it through the ice. The frozen bubbles are not only mystery of the lake. An engineer who lives nearby tells us the story that a plane from World War II is buried in the deep water at the southern tip of the lake. All attempts to recover it have failed so far. Maybe one of the beaver families has moved into the wreck – it supposedly settled in this part of the lake.

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

We did not bring skates for ice skating – nevertheless sliding was fun. What an unusual perspective! Usually I get to see the lake only from the shore or from a boat but today I can marvel at its surroundings from the lake center.

Tornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

The Haus am Tornower See resides above the lake. It is a popular place for family celebrations. From time to time it opens its doors for overnight guests. The house has lived through a rich history. First it was built and used as a holiday home, later on during the Second World War as a field hospital and after the war and until the late 1990s as an orphanage. “PRENZLKOMM”, a psycho-social organization from Berlin has managed the building since 2000.

Eisdetail, Tornowsee

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Every step on the frozen lake emits unreal noises. We hear cracking and eerie sounds. The engineer explains that the ice is under pressure because of the high temperature impact of the sun during the day. The ice shows cracks everywhere. But once they occur they close immediately – the ice is quite strong and can carry a lot of weight, says the engineer. He checked the ice a few days ago and took a test drill. At that stage it was nearly 23 centimeters thick.

GroßerTornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

He says that the sounds of the ice are particularly intense during the night hours. We are keen to hear them and drive out to the lake at night again. Our on-board thermometer in the car indicates minus 10 ° C. It is bitterly cold and we stand on the shore trembling. Nothing happens. Apart from two very moderate little cracks and the calls of a little owl we cannot hear a thing. The forces that move the ice do not reveal themselves and we decide to return home after a few minutes in the cold.

Kleiner Tornowsee

Kleiner Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

 

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Aufs Eis in Tornow

Tornow See

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Der Wind pfeift durch die kahlen Äste, die Märzsonne steht hoch am Himmel. Trotz ihrer  wärmenden Strahlen klettert das Thermometer heute nicht in den positiven Bereich. Seit Tagen herrscht Dauerfrost. Vom Kneipp-Kurort Buckow im Zentrum des Naturparks Märkische Schweiz, etwa 50 Kilometer östlich von Berlin, wandern wir ein kurzes Stück bis zum Großen Tornower See.

Großer Tornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Die Wanderung dauert etwa eine Dreiviertelstunde und ist nicht anspruchsvoll. Sie führt ein Teilstück durch Buckow, vorbei am Naturparkzentrum „Schweizer Haus“ an einem kleinen Bach entlang. Dass man dem See näher kommt, erkennt man an den Spuren seiner nächtlichen Bewohner: Biber haben sich an den Stämmen dünner Bäume zu schaffen gemacht und schon einige zu Fall gebracht. Nach Aussagen eines Anwohners leben inzwischen zwei Biberfamilien im Großen Tornower See.

Biberspuren, Tornow

Nagespuren Biber, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Von ihnen ist heute allerdings nichts zu sehen. Still liegt vor uns der zugefrorene See. Zaghaft wage ich die ersten Schritte auf das Eis. Ich bin fasziniert von den Luftblasen, die in der Eisschicht festgefroren sind. Aus dem Faulgrund im See steigen immer wieder Gase auf, die nicht entweichen können und festfrieren. Die eingeschlossenen Luftblasen sind für mich nicht das einzig Geheimnisvolle. Von einem Anwohner hören wir die Geschichte, dass an der Südspitze des Sees tief im Wasser noch ein Flugzeug aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg stecken soll. Bisherige Bergungsversuche seine fehlgeschlagen. Vielleicht lebt jetzt eine Biberfamilie in dem Wrack – auf jeden Fall habe sie sich in diesem Teil des Sees angesiedelt.

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Schlittschuhe haben wir keine dabei – trotzdem macht das Schlittern auf dem Eis mächtig Spaß. Welch ungewohnte Perspektive! Sonst kenne ich den See nur vom Ufer aus, heute kann ich die Umgebung von der Seemitte aus bestaunen.

Tornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Über dem See thront das Haus am Tornower See. Es ist ein beliebter Ort für Familienfeiern. Ab und zu wird es für Übernachtungsgäste geöffnet. Das Haus hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte durchlaufen. Zunächst diente es als privates Feriendomizil, als Feldlazarett während des zweiten Weltkriegs und wurde nach dem Krieg bis in die 1990er Jahre als Waisenhaus genutzt. Seit 2000 bewirtschaftet es die „PRENZLKOMM“, ein psycho-sozialer Träger aus Berlin. Heute wirkt es über der erstarrten Landschaft jedoch eher etwas verschlafen – und ganz anders als wir das von unseren Besuchen im Sommer in Erinnerung haben.

Eisdetail, Tornowsee

Eisdetail, Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Jeder Schritt auf dem See löst unwirkliche Geräusche aus – das Eis arbeitet. Manchmal kracht es. Ein Ingenieur, der am See lebt, erklärt, dass das Eis durch die Sonneneinstrahlung unter starker Spannung steht. Überall sind Risse zu sehen. Sie frieren sofort zu – das Eis ist stark genug und trägt, versichert uns der Ingenieur. Er muss es wissen, denn er hat schon vor Tagen mit einem Handbohrer eine Probebohrung durchgeführt. Da sei das Eis schon 23 Zentimeter dick gewesen, lässt er uns wissen.

GroßerTornowsee

Großer Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

Besonders intensiv seien die Geräusche in der Nacht zu hören, erzählt der Ingenieur. Wir wollen es genau wissen und fahren nachts noch einmal an den See. Minus 10° C zeigt das Bordthermometer am Auto. Es ist bitter kalt, wir stehen zitternd am Ufer. Und es geschieht: Nichts. Ein paar Mal kracht es leise. Die Kräfte, die das Eis bewegen, hören wir nicht. Lange halten wir nicht durch. Nach einigen Minuten sitzen wir wieder im beheizten Wagen und machen uns auf den Weg nach Hause.

Kleiner Tornowsee

Kleiner Tornower See, Märkische Schweiz

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Schreibe einen Kommentar